County Board approves electric aggregation ballot question


The Franklin County Board set into motion a process that will have voters in unincorporated areas given a chance to answer a ballot question on electric aggregation.

The County Board voted to place a referendum on the spring ballot that mirrors what cities and villages, have done on the question. As those previous votes in the county have done, this question will ask if unincorporated areas should allow the County Board to have the power to choose electrical suppliers at a cost savings for residents.

This was painted as a small number of residents in Franklin County, because electric aggregation cannot be done for residents served by rural electric cooperatives, only those served by large utilities, such as Ameren.

However, at least one person at the table had a vested interest. Board member Tom Vaughn said, “I am one of those who would be affected.”  The number of people voting, and the location of what is thought to be “small pockets” of eligible households will determine which precincts carry the ballot question. The number of precincts impacted will also determine the overall cost of the putting the question on the ballot.

Other actions taken Tuesday include:

  • The Board also approved travel requests for the Coroner’s office, Sheriff’s Dept., and Supervisor of Assessments office.
  • Temporary employee replacements were approved in the County Clerk, Supervisor of Assessment, and Circuit Clerk offices.
  • Approved a mileage rate of 56 and one half cents per mile; Board member Ken Hungate voted “no.”
  • Accepted reports provided by Regional Office of Education Superintendent Matt Donkin.
  • Voted to keep previous reviewed closed session minutes closed.
  • Burton Wills was appointed to the Franklin County Board of Review. David Severin and Gerald Owens were named to the 708 Board, which oversees social service efforts in the county.
Benton, West Frankfort, Illinois News | Franklin County News